New Jersey’s medical marijuana program has started registering patients and caregivers.
Those signing up must be recommended by one of 150 doctors who are participating in the program. Marijuana is only available to patients with a handful of conditions, including glaucoma, multiple sclerosis and terminal cancer.
A registration card good for two years costs $200. Patients on public assistance programs will pay $20.
The state’s first legal dispensary, Greenleaf Compassion Center in Montclair, is growing its first crop and expects to open sometime in September.
Patients can get information about registration online at njmmp-dot-nj-dot-org.
No patients have obtained legal cannabis since New Jersey’s medical marijuana law was signed in January 2019.